Történetek a sportból nem csak sportolóknak

Történetek a sportból nem csak sportolóknak

Team Building in New Heights in Hungary

Elevating sporting performance through DISC Profiling

2020. február 04. - DISCSzabi

In addition to US Olympic teams, top university clubs, Australian football and Japanese coach training, the method turns out to be working also in Szombathely.

We held an extraordinary team-building workshop together with the Futsal players of Haladás VSE at the request of Zsolt Bokor, Sports Director back in May 2019. The players and András Sziffer, the then head coach, learned about the application of the DISC behavioural style model in sport. The positive impact of the programme was also reflected by their winning streak in the championship (a Pyrrhic victory was only clinched against the team by MVFC Berettyóújfalu in last year’s final).

hali_workshop.jpeg

In the summer of 2019, a new head coach, Juan Ramón Calvo Rodríguez, and other players joined the team who carried on the programme with us with undiminished energy. In October, DISC reports (CoachDISC, AthleteDISC) for coaches and players using sporting parlance have been completed, and they are looking forward to an even more exciting part in the near future: we aim to support the team in processing and making use of the information in the reports, besides aiming at further developing their mental toughness. We asked participants about their experiences so far.

András Sziffer, Assistant Coach: “I’ve become more understanding and accepting, I make better and rational decisions, and I’m more conscious of looking for alternatives to solve problems. So, I find that I’m already making use of the results of the DISC programme. This is an improvement for me because I often used to make knee-jerk and unwise decisions, which, of course, ended up being dead in the water. By learning about the DISC behavioural profiles, it has become clearer to me what to expect from others and why they do what they do. I apply it even with those who haven’t participated in the programme, such as junior players. The individual work that Szabolcs Hollósi, Athlete Assessments consultant client suggested is also helpful, as the players’ working on their self-awareness reveals strengths and weaknesses, which enables them to advance in accepting themselves and each other. The relationship between the players have become more direct and they’re now more open to each other. Since they acquired DISC knowledge, they have also seen each other’s mistakes differently, are more accepting, and are trying to help each other."

Juan Ramón Calvo Rodríguez, Head Coach: "The programme “DISC Value-Conscious Sports Team” helped me to get to know myself, the team members and the players more. Understanding how others work, what they think is important is key for successful teamwork, and so conflicts can also be prevented. Most coaches have a clear idea of what they should play at a team level, but they are less focused on players as individuals. This, in turn, is essential for the team to deliver the maximum. My report has confirmed that I am task-oriented, primarily concerned with challenges and results, but there are players in the team whose priority is team harmony, good atmosphere, security, and sufficient amount and quality of communication. I had to adapt to them and become more open to get the most out of them."

Péter Horváth, Team Captain: "I see changes on all three sides; the coaches, the team and myself. I find that the coaches are more attentive to the players’ personality. They no longer think in teams, the attitude of the individual also matters. There are personalised conversations with the players since they were confronted with the fact that everyone has a different place or role in the team, represents a different colour, and stand for different values. You will notice, even in the locker room, what team members’ classified character is and we do pay attention to it. We already make jokes about who the dominant one is, who takes the decisions, who the team-player is, and also in conflicts, it is clear why and how people talk to each other. So there is no offence or anger, I think the effect is most noticeable here. I have experienced a change in my self-estimation. I have learned many of my new characteristics and have been confirmed with many of my well-known traits. I’m, can be, a useful member of our team, I can strengthen unity, and I can take my share in the victories. Working together was helpful. DISC provides something extra for success, it helps and adds 15-20% to victories, I think. We are looking forward to carrying it on."

Milos Simic, Serbian International Player of the Team: "The most important thing for me was that I’ve had a better understanding of my own strengths and the situations when I needed to change my behaviour. During the joint sessions, I was confronted with the fact that we are all different and thus form the team within which we have to respect each other’s individuality. After realising all these, I also became more aware of how we can help each other and overcome each other’s weaknesses, e.g. through our own example."

hali_futsal.jpg

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://sportsdiscourses.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr7015454854

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása